Review: Dredd 3D (2012)

Let me preface this review by saying, no, I didn’t see ’95 Stallone movie and, no, I had no idea Judge Dredd was a comic book character. With that said,  the movie was a disappointment.

The action takes place in a futuristic, dystopian world, where the police control everything and act as judge, jury and executioner. Rookie judge Anderson gets assigned to Dredd, to be taken into the field and tested as to whether she deserves to be on the force or not. They’re the first responders to a murder case and inadvertently get caught in a much bigger situation, a kill or be killed game with the Ma-Ma gang, the manufacturers of the Slo-Mo drug.

My first problem with this movie was the so-called drug. Slo-Mo makes you experience everything in slow motion, which made for many slow motion scenes, so help me. I now am accustomed with all the possible splatter shapes blood can make while falling to the ground, in slow motion. Also, what kind of lame-o drug is that? I mean, I suppose it would be useful for, say, trainee astronomers? Otherwise, it’s not particularly dangerous or interesting.

Speaking of blood splatter (not something I say too often), “Dred” was very, very gory. Characters skinned alive, beaten, shot, burned alive and so on and so forth; Cape Town surely ran out of corn syrup during the making of this film. I’m not complaining, though. Visually, it was awesome, especially coupled with the 3D effects. 

What did bother me was the ridiculousness of some of the scenes. Bullets flying through “n” walls like they’re going through butter, an entire floor being close to blown up (there are a couple of walls left standing), everybody dead and Dredd doesn’t have a scratch one him. Not one. Not even a teeny, tiny nick. Yeah, right.

Both Karl Urban, as Dredd, and Olivia Thirlby, as Anderson, did a decent job of acting out the roles they were given, which is something, I guess. But it was Lena Headey who stole the show for me. She was awesome, so good as a villain. (I do watch GoT, I should have expected it)

It was a good action movie, but that’s about it. The plot is pretty straight-forward and, maybe if I knew who Dredd was before seeing the movie, I would have enjoyed it. As it is, it left me with a distinct “meh” impression.

Thoughts?

