Sherlock – Season 3

The series co-producer, Mike Gatiss just revealed some new information on season 3.  Apparently the first episode will be based on the short story “The Adventure of the Empty House” by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.

He’s coming back!! Not that we didn’t know it wasn’t going to happen.

Unfortunately for fans, filming is scheduled to start in 2013.  It’s a long wait.

Until then, you can look forward to seeing The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, with Martin Freeman (Watson) as Bilbo Baggins or the Star Trek sequel, featuring Benedict Cumberbatch (Sherlock) as Khan Noonien Singh.

 

Related news: CBS is doing an adaptation based on Sherlock Holmes stories ( either inspired by the success of Sherlock UK or by the latest Sherlock Holmes movies), a show  named Elementary.  The big reveal was when they said that the role of Watson will be played by Lucy Liu, because yeah..it’s Joan Watson! An interesting twist to the story and one I’m not sure will work so well if they immediately put Sherlock and Watson in a “will they/won’t they” relationship.

“A modern take on the cases of Sherlock Holmes..” they say. Sound familiar? Go check out the IMDb page for Sherlock UK and you’ll see what I mean.

I guess we’ll have to wait and see.

6 thoughts on “Sherlock – Season 3

      • Awwh, how come? Is it because your a fan of the traditional story?
        I just think it’s quite good to bring in a potentially strong female character, and it also shows they’re trying to make it more current. 🙂

      • I am a fan of the traditional story, yeah. It’s not just that though. I don’t think they’re bringing in a female character, well actually not bringing in, but changing Watson so that he’s a chick now, to make it more modern.
        It’s Lucy Liu and let’s face it, she’s hot. Pretty sure that’s the only reason lol. Plus they had to do something different, otherwise everyone would’ve been at their throats, saying they’re ripping off Sherlock.
        Plus if they go down the relationship road with the two, the show is doomed. I dunno, I guess I shouldn’t judge before seeing at list the pilot, this is just what my gut’s telling me. 😀

  1. Ahh right, I will confess I have no idea who Lucy Liu is! Haha. But ohhh god yeah I hadn’t thought of that. The two being in a relationship? That would just be so wrong!

Thoughts?

