Review: Girls (2012)

I just finished watching the pilot for the new tv-show Girls, a series that premiered on HBO on April 15. I should’ve known after watching the teaser trailer that I’ll be disappointed.

It’s a comedy focused on a group of 4 friends ( ring any bells?) in their twenties, their day-to-day lives in NYC.  One of the actors playing a main character, Lena Dunham is also the series creator, in collaborating with Jude Apatow.

Performance wise, nothing struck me, except maybe how much I disliked all of the characters but that’s maybe because they were written to be obnoxious and unlikable ( I reckon that’s not the case though).

I see nothing new, nothing original. Well except maybe for the uncomfortable, weird sex scene that happens in the pilot and the annoying, mindless dialogue. Also..4 friends, New York City, daily insight into their lives? Yeah, we’ve seen that before in the form of Sex and The City. With the tiny difference that SaTC was funny, smart, likeable and about powerful women in their mid 30’s/40’s and not whiny twenty year olds.

To add more to my already formed opinion ( after watching the teaser and 5 mins of screen time) that this show is yet another try and miss at a SaTC remake/rip-off/whatever you want to call it, they show a poster of the aforementioned series in the pilot and talk about Carrie, Samantha, Miranda and Charlotte.

Along with shows like Lipstick Jungle and Cashmere Mafia, I am sure this series won’t get far before getting cancelled and mind you I think the two other shows I mentioned were actually a bit better.

I’m willing to give it on more try and watch the second episode aswell as I’ve seen people saying it’s a huge improvement, but I’m seriously not holding my breath.

I’m surprised that HBO picked up the pilot really.

Cast: Lena Dunham, Allison Williams, Jemima Kirke, Zosia Mamet.

Thoughts?

